According to a study carried out in California, approximately 2,049 deaths can be attributed to hit-and-run accidents. Although not all cases end in death, we want you to know what to do if you find yourself in a similar situation. For us, it is essential that you have the tools to be prepared and, in this way, facilitate the compensation process if necessary.
Here are the steps you should take to make sure you are protected during an event like this:
- Make sure everyone is safe: You must give priority to the people who travel with you.
- Call the medical team: If someone is injured, you should ask for help as soon as possible.
- Call the police: This step will make all the difference in your process. If the driver who hit your car has escaped, involving the police could significantly and positively impact seeking compensation. Go back to the crime scene with the police and tell them what happened. If they find the culprit, he can pay you for your damages and take care of your expenses.
- Gather evidence: Remember to take note of everything as soon as it happens. Take at least 10 minutes to see what is around you. If you see someone who could be a witness, ask them what they saw. Take lots of photos of the surroundings and the damage done.
- Call your insurer: Contact your insurer to find out how to proceed and make the necessary claim.
California laws are a little different from other states. The law says that if the person who escaped did not have insurance, he would not be able to pay the damages, but he would be charged the following:
- Property damage: could go to jail for six months and also pay a $1,000 fine
- Harm to a person: could go to jail for a year and pay a fine between $1,000- $1,500
- Death or permanent damage – could go to jail for two to four years and pay a $10,000 fine
Remember in these moments to always remain calm. This will help you to act quickly and find the responsible person. If you need help, don’t hesitate to get in touch with us.